"A first-rate novel. Suspenseful and highly entertaining."
- Gayle Lynds, New York Times bestselling author

Bruce is the author of the John Byron Mystery Series from HarperCollins Publishers. The debut novel in the series, Among The Shadows, is now available. The second novel, Beneath the Depths, will be released on August 8th.

His short story Fool Proofnamed one of the twenty best mystery stories published in North America during 2015, is included in Houghton Mifflin Harcourt's Best American Mystery Stories, 2016.

Bruce is a member of the Mystery Writers of AmericaSisters In Crime New England, and the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance. He is also a regular contributor to the Maine Crime Writers Blog and Murder Books Blog.

Bruce is represented by Paula Munier of the Talcott Notch Literary Agency. He lives and writes in Maine.

is a retired detective sergeant with more than twenty-seven years in law enforcement. At the time of his retirement, from the Portland, Maine police department, he supervised all homicide and violent crime investigations for Maine's largest city. Bruce also spent four years working counter-terrorism with the FBI, where he earned the Director's Award, the highest honor a non-agent can receive.

Bruce Robert Coffin

"Among the Shadows heralds the arrival of a powerful new voice in crime fiction."
- Chris Holm, Anthony Award winning author of The Killing Kind

"Among the Shadows is the best debut I've read in ages."
- Paul Doiron, author of Widowmaker

Bruce Robert Coffin

"Terrific! Fast-talking, smart, and cinematic, this entertaining page-turner is so knowingly authentic only a genuine cop turned storyteller could have written it."

- Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony, and Mary Higgins Clark Award winning author‚Äč