"Among the Shadows is the best debut I’ve read in ages." — Award winning author of the Mike Bowditch mystery series Paul Doiron

In this latest enthralling mystery from #1 bestselling author Bruce Robert Coffin, Detective Sergeant John Byron faces the greatest challenge of his career.

 

When a popular high school senior is shot by police following a late night robbery, chaos ensues. The actions of the officer are immediately called into question. Amid community protests, political grandstanding, department leaks, and reluctant witnesses, Byron and his team must work quickly to find the missing pieces.

And when an attempt is made on the officer’s life, Byron shifts into overdrive, putting everything on the line. Was the attack merely retribution or something more sinister? The search for the truth may come at a price not even Byron can afford.

In this latest gripping mystery from bestselling author Bruce Robert Coffin, Detective Sergeant John Byron is back—and ready to prove that no one on his beat is above the law. 

 

When the body of prominent Portland attorney Paul Ramsey turns up in the bottom of Casco Bay, following his loss of a multimillion dollar civil trial, Byron knows it's no accidental drowning. Golden boy Ramsey had a dark side—and Byron believes the key to solving his murder lies in uncovering those secrets someone wanted buried along with him. 

With the brilliant Detective Diane Joyner by his side, Byron takes on Ramsey's former employer, the powerhouse law firm of Newman, Branch & DeWitt. But delving further into the troubled waters of Ramsey's past only serves to lengthen the list of suspects—unleashing a perfect storm of corruption, betrayal, and murder that only Byron can stop. If he's not too late.

Large Print

Bruce Robert Coffin

among the shadows

beneath the depths

beyond the truth (coming Feb. 2019)

"Bruce Robert Coffin’s debut crime novel is a compelling page-turner that keeps you guessing—and rooting for his determined investigator—until the very end."
— Kate Clark Flora, author of Finding Amy

Novels

"With the twists and racing pace of a thriller and the profound authenticity of a police procedural, Among the Shadows is the kind of debut crime novel that could only be written by an ex-cop."
— Brian Thiem, author of Red Line

"When a lawyer who’s already antagonized half the people in Maine winds up dead, every pine tree in Portland seems chock-full of suspects. A sturdy, starchy police procedural."

—Kirkus Reviews

"Terrific! Fast-talking, smart, and cinematic, this entertaining page-turner is so knowingly authentic only a genuine cop turned storyteller could have written it." — Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony, and Mary Higgins Clark Award-winning author)

"Bruce Robert Coffin knows cops—how they talk, how they act, how they think—and he deploys that knowledge to devastating effect. Among the Shadows heralds the arrival of a powerful new voice in crime fiction." — Chris Holm, Anthony Award winning author of The Killing Kind

Reviews

"A superbly realistic, tense, and exciting novel." —  New York Times bestselling author Reed Farrel Coleman

The debut mystery from bestselling author Bruce Robert Coffin


Fall in Portland, Maine usually arrives as a welcome respite from summer’s sweltering temperatures and, with the tourists gone, a return to normal life—usually. But when a retired cop is murdered, things heat up quickly, setting the city on edge.

Detective Sergeant John Byron, a second-generation cop, is tasked with investigating the case—at the very moment his life is unraveling. On the outs with his department’s upper echelon, separated from his wife, and feeling the strong pull of the bottle, Byron remains all business as he tries to solve the murder of one of their own. And when another ex-Portland PD officer dies under suspicious circumstances, he quickly realizes there’s much more to these cases than meets the eye. The closer Byron gets to the truth, the greater the danger for him and his fellow detectives.

This taut, atmospheric thriller will appeal to fans of Michael Connelly and John Sandford.

"A first-rate novel. Suspenseful and highly entertaining." — New York Times bestselling author Gayle Lynds

Anthologies

"A gripping atmospheric thriller that finds the dark side of Portland, Maine. The Detective Byron mystery series is one of the finest to arrive in a long time." —#1 New York Times bestselling author Douglas Preston